The *Devon Public and Secondary Schools Athletic Association* was formed in 1935 and held its first interschools event at the County Ground in Exeter on March 21st 1936 with 13 schools taking part. It continued to hold annual meetings until 1949 even running them during the war years.

The *Devon Schools' Athletics Association* was then formed in 1950. A County Championship should have been held at Exeter on 8th June, 1950 but was cancelled at the last minute. However, a year later its first County Championship was held at the United Services' Ground in Plymouth.

In 1946 Miss R. Haynes of Exeter was Devon's first ESAA medallist when winning the silver medal in the 75 yards hurdles race for under-14s.

In 1951 Devon had its first ESAA Champion when Peggy Northcott, a pupil at Homelands Secondary Technical School in Torbay, won the Junior javelin title.

The ESAA Championship was held in Devon for the first time in 1956 at the Inter-Services Ground, Brickfield in Plymouth.

OLYMPIC GAMES MEDALLIST

Jonathan Edwards	1996 Triple Jump Silver, 2000 Triple Jump Gold
	1984 S TJ-1

WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP MEDALLISTS

Jo Pavey	10000m Bronze
(née Davis)	1988 J 1500m-1
Jonathan Edwards	1993 Triple Jump Bronze, 1995 Triple Jump Gold, 1997 Triple Jump Silver, 1999 Triple Jump Bronze, 2001 Triple Jump Gold 1984 S TJ-1

EUROPEAN CHAMPIONSHIP MEDALLISTS

Jo Pavey (née Davis)	2012 10000m Silver, 2014 10000m Gold 1988 J 1500m-1
Andy Carter	1971 800m Bronze 1967 S 880y-h
Jonathan Edwards	1998 Triple Jump Gold, 2002 Triple Jump Bronze 1984 S TJ-1

COMMONWEALTH GAMES MEDALLISTS

Angie Pain	1990 Marathon Bronze
(later Hulley)	1979 S CC-59

Jo Pavey (née Davis)	2006 5000m Silver, 2014 5000m Bronze 1988 J 1500m-1
Katherine Endacott	2010 100m Silver and 4 x 100m Gold 1996 I 200m-h-7
Andy Carter	1974 4x400m Silver 1967 S 880y-h
Peter Yates	1978 Javelin Throw Bronze 1974 S JT-1
Jonathan Edwards	1990 and 1994 Triple Jump Silver, 2002 Triple Jump Gold 1984 S TJ-1

BRITISH CHAMPIONS

Lesley Mallin	1980 Discus Throw 1970 J DT-1, 1972 I DT-1, 1973 and 1974 S DT-1
Andrea Wallace	1990 and 1992 10000m 1983 I CC-52
Jo Pavey (née Davis)	2001, 2006-08 and 2012 5000m, 2007-08, 2010 and 2014 10000m 1988 J 1500m-1
Emma Carpenter	2008 Discus Throw 1996 J DT-3, 1997 I DT-2, 1998 I DT-1, 1999 S DT-1, 2000 S DT-2
Poppy Tank	2023 3000m Steeplechase 2015 S CC-4, 2016 S 1500m-4
Andy Carter	1970 and 1972-73 800m 1967 S 880y-h
Peter Yates	1978 Javelin Throw 1974 S JT-1
Brad McStravick	1979 and 1980 Decathlon 1974 S 100m h-?
Jonathan Edwards	1989, 1994, 1998 and 2001 Triple Jump 1984 S TJ-1
Guy Stroud	2009 Decathlon 2005 S DEC-1
David King	2017 and 2019-20 110m Hurdles

2012 S 110mH-2

Philip Norman	2020 and 2024 3000m Steeplechase 2005 I 1500mST-2, 2006 I 1500mST-1, 2007 S 2000mST-2
William Battershill	2023 3000m Steeplechase 2014 I 1500mST-1, 2016 S 2000mST-1

Notes regarding the athlete details shown above :

An entry for each athlete begins with a line (or lines) detailing their Major Championship medal win(s) or their British Championship title win(s). This is followed by a line (or lines) listing their ESAA Championship medal winning performance(s), or showing a non-medal winning performance, in the abbreviated format – *yyyy a eeee p* where :

- yyyy Championship Year
- a Age Group (I Intermediate, J Junior, S Senior, pre-1948 the age groups were Under-14 (U14) and Under-16 (U16))
- eeee Event
- Place achieved (note an 'h-' indicates the performance was in a heat and 'r-' indicates it was in a preliminary round)

ESAA GIRLS CHAMPIONS

1951	J	JT	Peggy Northcott	2003	S	CC	Dani Barnes
1953	S	220y	Pamela Stoyle	2003	S	800m	Dani Barnes
1959	I	HJ	Christine Shepherd	2004	J	CC	Joanne Harvey
1961	T	80yH	Rosemary Kimberley	2004	J	800m	Joanne Harvey
1961	S	HJ	Christine Shepherd	2004	Ι	TJ	Claire Linskill
1964	T	80mH	Wendy Palmer	2006	S	TJ	Claire Linskill
1965	S	80mH	Wendy Palmer	2007	Ι	3000m	Jessica Burns
1966	S	80mH	Wendy Palmer	2007	Ι	TJ	Lauren Priest
1967	J	JT	Rosemary Cole	2008	Ι	DT	Julia Walkden
1969	J	DT	Lorraine Harding	2008	S	CC	Joanne Harvey
1970	J	DT	Lesley Mallin	2010	S	400mH	Lizzie Wessely
1972	T	DT	Lesley Mallin	2010	S	4x100m	Devon
1973	S	DT	Lesley Mallin	2011	S	IJ	Rebecca Chapman
1974	S	DT	Lesley Mallin	2015	Ι	HEP	Isabel Wakefield
1975	J	200m	Jeanette Doyle	2015	Ι	80mH	Isabel Wakefield
1975	T	800m	Angela Mason	2016	J	800m	Molly Canham
1976	S	1500m	Angela Mason	2016	S	1500mST	Victoria Weir
1977	J	HJ	Mandy Keating	2019	S	IJ	Emily Tyrrell
1987	J	JT	Mandy Liverton	2021	J	DT	Nubia Evans-Shields
1987	J	SP	Claire Burnett	2022	Ι	3000m	Innes Fitzgerald
1987	T	3000m	Emma Sokell	2022	Ι	DT	Nubia Evans-Shields
1988	J	1500m	Joanne Davis	2023	J	HT	Tegan Brown
1988	J	JT	Joanne Harvey	2023	Ι	DT	Nubia Evans-Shields
1988	T	JT	Mandy Liverton	2023	S	CC	Innes Fitzgerald
1989	T	JT	Mandy Liverton	2023	S	3000m	Innes Fitzgerald
1990	S	JT	Mandy Liverton	2024	J	100m	Annabelle Fasuba
1998	T	DT	Emma Carpenter	2024	J	HT	Hazel Stead
1999	S	DT	Emma Carpenter	2024	S	CC	Innes Fitzgerald
2000	J	1500m	Dani Barnes	2024	S	1500m	Scarlett Livingstone
2002	T	1500m	Dani Barnes	2024	S	3000m	Innes Fitzgerald
2002	S	SP	Sarah Beer				

1952	S	220y	M. Wotton	1993	Ι	400mH	Jon Goodwin
1956	J	440y	B. Thorniley	1993	Т	JT	Sean Evans
1956	S	4x110y	Devon	1996	S	CC	Kairn Stone
1956	S	PV	Anthony Pitt	1997	S	CC	Daniel Hyde
1957	S	HJ	R. Organ	1999	S	800m	Nic Andrews
1959	I	440y	Colin Davey	2001	J	IJ	Danny Harris
1960	J	80yH	Stephen Wilkinson	2001	S	JT	Alex van der Merwe
1961	S	440y	Colin Davey	2001	S	SP	Dave Dawson
1968	J	80yH	S. Read	2002	J	LJ	Jack Field
1969	J	DT	J. Scott	2005	S	DEC	Guy Stroud
1969	S	SP	Jon Wood	2006	Ι	1500mST	Philip Norman
1970	S	SP	Jon Wood	2010	S	800m	Sam Petty
1971	J	1500m	Martin Wilson	2011	S	JT	Steven Turnock
1973	I	1500m	Martin Wilson	2013	J	80mH	Sam Talbot
1974	S	JT	Peter Yates	2014	Ι	1500mST	William Battershill
1975	S	DT	Rex Wheway	2016	Ι	1500mST	Finley McLear
1977	J	DT	Mike Tonkin	2016	S	2000mST	William Battershill
1983	J	HJ	Julian Rifat	2018	S	2000mST	Elliot Moran
1984	S	TJ	Jonathan Edwards	2019	Ι	CC	Oliver Smart
1989	Ι	TJ	Dave Reeve	2022	S	800m	Sam Mills
1993	Ι	CC	Kairn Stone				

SCHOOLS INTERNATIONAL ATHLETICS BOARD (SIAB)

The SIAB hold 3 annual international meetings for school athletes from England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales. These are *Cross Country, Track and Field* and *Indoor Pentathlon Internationals*. A fourth championship, an *Indoor Track and Field International* meeting, was also held from 1990 to 2000.

SIAB GIRLS WINNERS

1965	S	80mH	Wendy Palmer	2004	I	TJ	Claire Linskill
1973	S	DT	Lesley Mallin	2018	I	80mH	Emily Bee
1988	I.	JT	Mandy Liverton	2022	I	CC	Innes Fitzgerald
1997	I.	DT	Emma Carpenter	2022	I	DT	Nubia Evans-Shields
1998	I.	80mH	Sharon Davidge	2023	I	DT	Nubia Evans-Shields
1998	I.	DT	Emma Carpenter	2023	016	iPEN	Eden Robinson
2004	J	CC	Joanne Harvey				

SIAB BOYS WINNERS

1967	S	120yH	Alan Davies	2004	U18	iPEN	Guy Stroud
1970	S	SP	Jon Wood	2006	I	1500mST	Philip Norman
1989	I	HT	Jon Bond	2014	I	1500mST	William Battershill
1989	I	TJ	Dave Reeve	2016	I	1500mST	Finlay McLear
1993	I	JT	Sean Evans	2025	I	CC	Rory Barclay-Watt
1998	I	800m	Nic Andrews				

SIAB winning performances are shown in the abbreviated format *yyyy a eeee* where :

yyyy Championship Year

- Age Group (I Intermediate, J Junior, S Senior, Under-16 (U16), Over-16 (O16) and Under-18 (U18))
- eeee Event (preceded by an 'i' indicates at a SIAB indoor meeting)

WORLD JUNIOR / U20 MEDALLIST - GIRLS

1990 Mandy Liverton Javelin Throw Bronze

EUROPEAN U23 MEDALLIST - GIRLS

2001 Karen Gear 4 x 400m Gold

EUROPEAN U23 MEDALLIST - BOYS

1999Peter Brend4 x 400m Bronze

EUROPEAN JUNIOR / U20 MEDALLIST - GIRLS

2003	Dani Barnes	1500m Silver
2023	Innes Fitzgerald	CC Gold
2024	Innes Fitzgerald	CC Gold

EUROPEAN JUNIOR / U20 MEDALLISTS - BOYS

1999	Nic Andrews	800m Silver
2019	Finlay McLear	800m Bronze